You can decide what will happen to your estate by creating a will. However, for your will to be valid, it must be created in accordance with Florida laws. This means that you have to be at least 18 years old and have the testamentary capacity to create a will. It also means that your will must be witnessed.
Anyone above the age of 18 years can witness the signing of a will as long as they are not included as beneficiaries. Here are some of the people you can ask to witness your will:
- Your neighbors – If you create your will at home, or have it mailed via post, then you may ask your trusted neighbors to witness it.
- Your workmates – If you print your will at work or have it sent to your office, you could ask your workmates to witness and sign it.
- Friends –You can also choose friends to witness your will as long as you have not mentioned them as beneficiaries in your will.
- Relatives– It is not uncommon to leave your estate to your dependents and relatives. That said, you can reach out to relatives who are not mentioned in your will to witness it.
The number of witnesses you need when signing your will
Under Florida law, you need at least two adults of sound mind to witness and sign your will. These witnesses must both be present while you are signing your will document. This reason for this is that, should anyone try to contest your will in the future, then these witnesses can step forward and testify that they saw you read and sign your will.
A valid will can give you peace of mind knowing that your wishes will be honored when you die. Find out how you can create a will that can stand the test of time.